MINUTES

1999-2000 ANNUAL MEETING OF THE BOARD UNIVERSITY OF SOUTHERN INDIANA BOARD OF TRUSTEES

July 8, 1999

The University of Southern Indiana Board of Trustees met in annual and regular sessions on Thursday, July 8, 1999, in the Conference Center of the New Harmony Inn in New Harmony, Indiana. Present were Trustees Bruce Baker, Louise Bruce, Charles Combs, Ryan Helzerman, G. Patrick Hoehn, Tina Kern, Harolyn Torain, and James Will Sr. Also attending were President H. Ray Hoops; Vice Presidents John Byrd, Robert Reid, Richard Schmidt, and Sherrianne Standley; Faculty Senate Chair Mark Krahling; and Student Government Association President Brian Pauley.

There being a quorum present. Mrs. Torain called the delayed annual meeting to order at 2:00 p.m.

Mrs. Standley took the roll call, and read the notice of the annual meeting and the minutes of the 1998-99 annual meeting. There were no changes. On a motion by Mr. Will, seconded by Mr. Baker, the 1998-99 annual meeting minutes were approved.

Nominating Committee member, Mr. Hoehn, reported that the nominating committee on which he, Mrs. Bruce, and Mr. McKenna served, has submitted the following slate of officers for the 1999-2000 year:

The committee has been guided by the statement pertaining to leadership of the Board and continuity and change, first adopted by the Trustees in 1986, and requests that the statement be entered into minutes of this annual meeting.

"It is the sense of the nominating committee that the leadership of the officers of the Board of Trustees should be balanced between the elements of continuity and change -- continuity to provide a kind of stability in the officership of the Board; change to take advantage of the talents of the several members of the Board."

"To that end, without establishing maximum terms of office for any officer position of the Board, it is recommended that, at each annual election of officers, the Board consciously consider the values both of continuity and change for each officer position and of the development of new leadership among the Board and the University officers."

Mrs. Torain called for other nominations from the floor. There being none, she declared the nominations closed. On a motion by Mr. Hoehn, the nominating committee slate <u>was approved.</u>

Mrs. Torain passed the gavel to newly elected Chair James Will Sr.

Mr. Will reappointed Richard Schmidt as Treasurer and Sherrianne Standley as Assistant Secretary.

Mr. Will appointed Louise Bruce, Harolyn Torain, and Ryan Helzerman to serve on the Long-Range Planning Committee, with Bruce Baker as chair.

Mr. Will appointed Charles Combs, G. Patrick Hoehn, and Thomas McKenna to serve on the Finance Committee, with Tina Kern as chair.

Mr. Will appointed Bruce Baker, Louise Bruce, and Tina Kern to the USI Foundation Board of Directors for the 1999-2000 year, and Thomas McKenna, G. Patrick Hoehn, and Ryan Helzerman to serve on the USI-New Harmony Foundation Board of Directors.

Mr. Will declared the annual meeting of the University of Southern Indiana Board of Trustees adjourned at 2:12 p.m.